Updating cattaraugus cemetery
The patroon Kiliaen van Rensselaer called the region Pafraets Dael, after his mother.
The Dutch colony was conquered by the English in 1664, and in 1707 Derick Van der Heyden purchased a farm near today's downtown area.
Troy, therefore, is noted for a wealth of Victorian architecture downtown and elaborate private homes in various neighborhoods.
Several churches boast a concentrated collection of stained glass windows by Louis Comfort Tiffany.
The land around the Poesten Kill was owned by Skiwias and was called Panhooseck.
The area around the Wynants Kill, was known as Paanpack, was owned by Peyhaunet.
Troy has since claimed to be the historical home of Uncle Sam.
One skeleton was female and Caucasian with an iron ring. The name Troy (after the legendary city of Troy, made famous in Homer's Iliad) was adopted in 1789 before which it had been known as Ashley's Ferry, and the region was formed into the Town of Troy in 1791 from part of the Manor of Rensselaerswyck. Troy became a village in 1801 and was chartered as a city in 1816.
Prior to the arrival of Europeans, the Mohican Indians had a number of settlements along the Hudson River near the confluence with the Mohawk River.
The land comprising the Poesten Kill and Wynants Kill areas were owned by two Mohican groups.
In 1771, Abraham Lansing had his farm in today's Lansingburgh laid out into lots.
Sixteen years later, Van der Heyden's grandson Jacob had his extensive holdings surveyed and laid out into lots, naming the new village Vanderheyden.
Search for updating cattaraugus cemetery:
The land between the creeks, which makes up most of downtown and South Troy, was owned by Annape.